Committees of the Board

Admissions and Standards

Responsible for evaluating all applications for membership, the work of the Admissions and Standards Committee this year highlighted the global breadth of the Association, with applications from West Point Press, Hong Kong University Press, the University of Johannesburg Press, and the Association for Asian Studies, as well as application for permanent membership from Introductory member Texas Review Press.
Douglas Hildebrand, Alberta, Chair 
Dawn Durante, North Carolina
Christie Henry, Princeton
Wendy Queen, Johns Hopkins
Stephanie Williams, Wayne State
Peter Berkery, Central Office Liaison


The Audit Committee provides oversight to the conduct of the Association’s annual financial audit. Specific charges of the committee include collaboration with the AUPresses business manager, working with an independent accounting firm to conduct the audit (and may include assessing and selecting a new accounting firm, should best practices recommend it), meeting (virtually) with principals of the firm to review audit procedures, reviewing the draft and final audit report to discuss any material findings or disclosures therein, presenting the audit to the Board for approval, and confirming financial compliance by AUPresses personnel.
Lisa Bayer, Georgia, Chair
Saleem Dhamee, Chicago
Alexandria Leonard, Princeton
Kim Miller, Central Office Liaison


The Nominating Committee solicited and evaluated nominations from the membership for candidates for the 2022-23 Board of Directors in late 2022 and early 2023. The Committee drew on an encouragingly large number of nominees, some put forward as a result of the formal call for nominations, others proposed by members of the Board and the prior Nominating Committee.

The committee’s slate of nominees, including a President-Elect and a Treasurer-Elect, and three Directors-at-Large, was approved by the current Board at their April meeting and will be presented for ratification by AUPresses members at the May 18, 2023 Annual Business Meeting. Building on the work of the prior year’s committee, the committee tested methods for better assessing the composition of the Board as it relates to both the diversity of our membership and our call to become a more inclusive industry, focusing on the many facets of a representative and inclusive board, including race/ethnicity, gender, geography, professional background, and press size, among others. The committee greatly appreciated the excellent work done by the previous year’s committee around the methodologies deployed to improve recruitment strategies and representation on the Board. Furthermore, it’s important to acknowledge that a board of thirteen members cannot represent the diversity of our membership in any single year and that some aspects are therefore prioritized over others, based on the current composition of the Board and the projected composition based on service terms.
Niko Pfund, Oxford, Chair
Lisa Bayer, Georgia
Jane Bunker, Northwestern
Christopher Dreyer, Michigan
Colleen Lanick, Harvard
Rachael Levay, Colorado
Amy Liu, Oklahoma
Angelica Lopez-Torres, Texas
Peter Berkery, Central Office Liaison